God bless you, sir.

Willis Carrier c. 1915

This summer has been hotter and stickier than most.  As I sit at my desk writing, an air conditioner is humming away in my bedroom, cooling it down for bedtime.  Were it not for air conditioning, I would not be sleeping at all this summer.

With this in mind, I honor the above individual, Willis Carrier; who, in 1906, patented an invention that not only cooled air but de-humidified it. Bless you. Bless you. Bless you.  Had I been alive in 1906, I would have followed this man around offering him my first-born. Since I cannot offer the man my progeny, crappy haikus must suffice.

Enveloping heat,

the wet air clings. Cold dry room,

sanctuary. Joy.

-or-

Air conditioning

The mere words relax the mind.

Step in. Party hats.

-or-

Willis, love is blind

but not resistant to heat

or humidity.

-or-

Your eyes draw me in.

I whisper your name in prayer,

Willis Carrier.

Thanks to Wikipedia

About The Sassy Librarian

Librarian. Writer. Curmudgeon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

